Ervin Monroe Young Artist Competition

The Ervin Monroe Young Artist Competition (EMYAC) was established in 2008 to celebrate and honor the 40-year tenure of Ervin Monroe as the Principal Flutist of the Detroit Symphony Orchestra. The first biennial competition was held at the SEMFA Festival in 2009. The EMYAC is open to any flutist who is a permanent resident of Michigan or is a student at a Michigan college or university. Applicants must be 18-30 years of age by the date of the Ervin Monroe Young Artist Competition. 

Six finalists will be selected on the basis of recorded auditions. Judges will award, at their discretion, first, second and third cash prizes in the amounts of $1,000.00, $500.00 and $200.00. The first and second prize winners will be invited to participate in a masterclass with our Guest Artist.

The EMYAC has a $50.00 non-refundable application fee that can be paid via PayPal on the application. 

Interested applicants should complete the EMYAC Online Application Form below and complete payment. Applications and Payment must be received by April 10, 2024 11:59 pm ET. 

All applicants must be current SEMFA members.

Applicants are responsible for their own collaborative pianists.

EMYAC 2024 Submissions are currently closed. 

2024 Repertoire

Recorded Preliminary Round:

  • Memory by Chen Yi for Solo Flute (Theodore Presser)

  • The Siren by Adolf Terschak ed. Ervin Monroe (Little Piper)

Live Round

  • Memory by Chen Yi for Solo Flute (Theodore Presser)

  • The Siren op. 12 by Adolf Terschak ed. Ervin Monroe (Little Piper)



  • Sonatine by Darius Milhaud (Durand)

  • Wish Sonatine by Valerie Coleman (Theodore Presser)

  • Poem by Charles T. Griffes (Little Piper)

Previous EMYAC Winners

2009 - Margaret Shin

2011 - Katherine Standefer

2013 - Cheng-Yu Lu

2014 - Brandon LePage

2016 - Shantanique Moore

2018 - Ayana Tarauchi

2021 - Hunter O'Brien

Two SEMFA Festivals were held in 2013 to shift the festival from the Spring to the Fall. SEMFA did not hold Festivals in 2020 nor 2023.